adventures in foodspotting

Foodspotting.cFoodspotting Appom is a site I came across in February, when they partnered with 7×7 Magazine to record the magazine’s “The Big Eat 2010 Scavenger Hunt,” a race for those who choose to take a challenge, on who can prove to have eaten what the magazine describes as the “100 Things to Eat and Drink in San Francisco Before You Die.”

The idea behind foodspotting.com and its iPhone app is simple: spot food, instead of restaurants. The result is a website chock full of pictures of food from around the world. While it’s still in “beta” form, there are still much to be improved with the site (I’ll blog about that in another time!).

While I did not win the challenge (Michael M. did!), I quickly got an affinity for this site. I have always taken pictures of food for as long as I can remember. Now, I have a way of sharing each and every cupcake, chicken wing, pork belly, martini, and cuisine I’ve ever tried. I then went through my flickr.com account and thumbed through over 32,000 pictures and uploaded all the food pics into the site.

By the end of February, I had become the All-Time Foodspotter! While I came about the site because of the Food Hunt, I stayed for the sake of foodspotting.

~ by foodieplanet on March 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
